Independence Day of Armenia

Learn the history of the most important holiday in Armenia and get ready to celebrate it. This year the holiday will be celebrated in the cultural capital of the country - the city of Gyumri.

21 Sep

Independence Day Celebration at Gyumri

The Armenian government decided to hold all subsequent Independence Day celebrations outside the capital, and this year the holiday will be celebrated in the cultural capital of the country - the city of Gyumri. The holiday starts in Gyumri Central Park from 11:00. Various events will be organized in all parts of the city: multi-genre music concerts, children's and sport events, exhibitions, film screenings at the "Oktyabr" movie theater and public discussions on the theme “Vision for the parallel development of regions”. Famous Yerevan bars and restaurants will operate in the Gyumri Central Park. The gala concert with the participation of Armenian and foreign artists starts in Vardanants Square at 19.00. Traditionally, fireworks will take place at the end of the event.

History of Independence Day

Fall is one of the most important season in Armenia due to all the prominent holidays and events that take place throughout it. One of these holidays happens to be the Independence Day of Armenia. This public holiday celebrates the restoration of the Armenian Republic back in the 1991, after the fall of the Soviet Union. The Declaration of Independence was originally adopted during a session of the Supreme Council of Armenia on August 23, 1990. By this document, the Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic was renamed to be the Republic of Armenia.

A year later, on September 21, 1991, by the decision of the Supreme Council of Armenia, a referendum was held on the topic of withdrawal of the country from Soviet Republic and the establishment of an independent statehood. 94.99% of citizens who took part in the referendum, voted in favor of the decision. Two days later, on September 23, the Supreme Council proclaimed Armenia an independent state. Later that year Levon Ter-Petrosyan was elected the first president of Armenia.