The Baghaberd Fortress is located near the Andokavan village. The building is connected to Baghak, grandchild of Sisak, a prince of 1700 BC who according to legend is an ancestor of the Syunik progeny.
The Baghaberd fortress is located in the northwest of the Kapan village in the Syunik region. Located along the ridge overlooking the Voghji River, this 4th century architectural wonder was labeled inaccessible due to its unique location.
In cases of outside danger, the people of the region would find refuge within the walls of the fortress. It’s even known that when ancient Armenia was under tough political conditions, the manuscripts and the riches of several Armenian monasteries, including Tatev, were hidden in Baghaberd. Baghaberd was the last capital of the Syunik Kingdom before its capture in 1170 by the Seljuk Turks of Ganzar. After the capture all the treasures within the fortress were stolen or destroyed.
According to the historical records of Stepanos Orbelian, Baghak from the house of Sisak inherited the region and gave orders to construct the Baghaberd fortress. The region came to be known as the “Land of Bagh” afterwards. The first records of the fortress appeared in the 4th century when King Shapur II was defeated under the walls of the fortress, yet some historians believe that Prince Baghak lived in 1850 BC. This would make the fortress over 3850 years old.
The fortress managed to survive only partially, yet from its ruins it becomes clear that the fortress used to have double walls along with their towers. Several of these towers have been preserved in a partially ruined state. Today, only fragments of the fortified walls are preserved and they can be clearly seen from the central square of the village.
It’s interesting to know that the fortress used to have underground tunnels that were used when Baghaberd was under siege. The fortress also had access to fresh water source as it’s believed that the waters of a nearby spring were transferred inside the fortress via clay pipelines.