S. Grigor Bardzrakash Monastery
Churches and Monasteries
Bardzrakash S. Grigor Monastery is located about 2 km north of Dsegh Village. Dating from 1221 the monastery was constructed during the reign of Gregori IV and is regarded as one of the finest in the country.
Bardzrakash S. Grigor Monastery is located about 2 km north of Dsegh Village where a steep wooded path leads down the side of the gorge to the monastery around 500 meters from the road. The site holds a large collection of local khachkars and the remains of an ancient pagan shrine.
The monastery is in this forest location and is surrounded by mature trees. Dating from 1221 the monastery was constructed during the reign of Gregori IV and is regarded as one of the finest in the country.
The main church is the 13th century Saint Astvatsatsin, Holy Mother of God, as written in an inscription of dedication on its walls. The entrance, parts of the southern and western walls, sections of flying arches, and pillars are still well preserved.
The dome however has been lost, although fragments of stone carvings remain. South of the monastery is a medieval cemetery with the remains of a number of 13th century khachkars and the tombs of members of the Mamikonian family.
Saint Harutiun Chapel is located in the cemetery – one of the few examples of a 12th century stepped roof – its walls and roof made from large slabs of basalt. A little further from the monastery is the site of a medieval bridge and the remains of the Mankants Vank Convent.